Megan Smith

Executive Dean

Professor Megan Smith

PhD, MAppSc(Cardiopulmphysio), BAppSc (Physio), GCUT&L

Executive Dean
Wagga Wagga
Building 475 Room 222

Professor Megan Smith was appointed Executive Dean in January 2019 and Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Science in May 2018 following 4 years as Head of School of the School of Community Health and inaugural Director, Three Rivers UDRH in July 2017. Whilst Megan's role has changed, she remains closely involved with Three Rivers as an Advisory Board Member.

Megan has held the positions of Physiotherapy Course Leader, Sub Dean Workplace Learning for the Faculty of Science and Acting Associate Dean for the Faculty of Science.

Megan has significant teaching and research experience in health education and practice. Originally graduating from the University of Sydney with a Bachelor of Applied Science (Physiotherapy) and practicing as a clinical physiotherapist, Megan joined the staff at Charles Sturt University in 1999.

Originally growing up in the Riverina she practiced as a clinical physiotherapist in metropolitan Australia and the UK before returning to the bush to pursue an academic career.

Megan’s research and teaching interests are in delivering high quality health professional education. Her goal is to positively impact on the health of people whose preference like hers is to live, work and study in rural Australia.

Megan's teaching at CSU has been in the specialty area of cardiorespiratory physiotherapy. Megan has also taught reflective practice and evidence-based practice to undergraduate physiotherapy students. The other area of Megan's teaching expertise is delivery of professional development for workplace learning educators.

Megan supervises PhD, Professional Doctorate, Masters and Honours students.

Megan's current research interests are in the area of developing a future rural health workforce that is able to meet the health needs of rural communities. She is particularly interested in the rural allied health workforce. Her research has focused on interprofessional practice, workplace learning, clinical reasoning, reflective practice and the assessment of student performance in the workplace.

Professional Involvement
  • Advisory Board Member of Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health
  • Member of the Australian Physiotherapy Association
  • Member of the Standing Panel of Accreditation Reviewers, Australian Physiotherapy Council
  • Australian Rural Health Education Network (ARHEN) Board member
  • Australian Council of Dean of Health Sciences (ACDHS) Board member
Peer Reviewer:
  • Physiotherapy Theory and Practice
  • Journal of Physiotherapy
  • Focus on Health Professional Education
  • Physiotherapy Canada