Jenny Cox

Course Directors

Dr Jennifer Cox

BSc; BMedSc (Hons); PhD

Course Director / Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Science
Building 1001 Room A71

Jenny joined the School of Biomedical Sciences at Charles Sturt University (CSU) in July 2004. Prior to joining CSU, she gained extensive experience in biomedical science and clinical microbiology through her employment as a Scientific Officer in public and private pathology laboratories. She completed her PhD in health science tertiary education with the Charles Sturt Faculty of Science in 2016.

Jenny has significant experience in curriculum design, and she has successfully developed and implemented Faculty-level programs which succeeded in improving student progression and reducing first-year attrition. Her leadership in this area has been recognized with a Faculty of Science Excellence in Leadership Award and a Vice Chancellors Award for Leadership Excellence.

She is a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (UK) and has an interest in the scholarship of teaching and learning, collaborating with colleagues nationally on teaching related research projects.

Professional Memberships

  • Senior Fellow, Higher Education Academy UK. (SFHEA)
  • Australian & New Zealand Association for Health Professional Educators (ANZAHPE)
  • Western Health Research Network
  • Association for Tertiary Education Management (ATEM)


Jenny has previously taught anatomy & physiology, pathophysiology & microbiology to undergraduate students from a variety of health professional courses including nursing, paramedicine and pharmacy.

Jenny’s research interests include student transition and success, tertiary health science education and health professions education. She has been involved in various healthcare research projects including:

  • multi- disciplinary telehealth education for on-line learning,
  • associations between social isolation, loneliness and poor mental health among different population groups
  • clinical decision making, culture and health

Grants: Deputy Lead - Office of Learning and Teaching Seed Grant 2016  Enrolled nurse transition: development of a university preparation program for direct entry to 2nd year.